my exercise Running Blog at FastRunningBlog.Com http://Don.fastrunningblog.com/ Sun, 24 Sep 2017 02:23:04 FeedCreator 1.7.2 Sat, Sep 23, 2017 http://Don.fastrunningblog.com/blog-09-23-2017.html <p>warmed up in racing flats 21:34. &nbsp;splts 9:39, 8:53 (5 strides during warm-up), 3:02 (2 sprints durign warm-up).&nbsp;</p> <p>then I broke my PR for the mile for this decade at 2.03 miles of this run I changed to my heavier shoes.total time for 6.04 miles 53:25. &nbsp;splits 6:57, 9:35, 9:13, 9:14, 9:17, 8:48, 0:21. &nbsp;</p> <p>bike was short as I ahd things to do. &nbsp;total time 20:09. &nbsp;15 mph</p> Sat, 23 Sep 2017 06:00:00 Fri, Sep 22, 2017 http://Don.fastrunningblog.com/blog-09-22-2017.html <p>total running time 31:32. &nbsp;splits 9:41, 9:16 (mostly downhill), 9:27 (mostly uphill), 3:08. &nbsp;deliberate easy day.</p> Fri, 22 Sep 2017 06:00:00 Thu, Sep 21, 2017 http://Don.fastrunningblog.com/blog-09-21-2017.html <p>early in the morning up to West HS track. &nbsp;ran 200 meter up-tempo 200 meters recovery x 15 and then too and from the track. &nbsp;total time 44:08. &nbsp;splits 8:57, 8:13, 8:19, 8:17, 9:22, 1:00</p> Thu, 21 Sep 2017 06:00:00 Wed, Sep 20, 2017 http://Don.fastrunningblog.com/blog-09-20-2017.html <p>easy run total time 29:46. &nbsp;splits 9:54, 9:24, 9:29, 0:58</p> Wed, 20 Sep 2017 06:00:00 Tue, Sep 19, 2017 http://Don.fastrunningblog.com/blog-09-19-2017.html <p>on the west HS track. &nbsp;was in a zone so this didn&#39;t feel difficult at all. &nbsp;total time 36:00. &nbsp;splits 9:12, 8:24, 8:14, 9:17, 0:53</p> Tue, 19 Sep 2017 06:00:00 Mon, Sep 18, 2017 http://Don.fastrunningblog.com/blog-09-18-2017.html <p>ran up South Temple and then turned around. &nbsp;Uphill for first half and then down-hill. &nbsp;total time 28:31. &nbsp;splits 9:30, 9:05, 8:37, 1:19.</p> Mon, 18 Sep 2017 06:00:00 Sat, Sep 16, 2017 http://Don.fastrunningblog.com/blog-09-16-2017.html <p>6.36 in racing flats. &nbsp;plan was warm up and then try to break my mile PR and 5K pr for this decade. &nbsp;just missed the mile pr but I got the 5K pr. &nbsp;warmed up for 2.3 miles - total time 21:57. &nbsp;during second mile did 5 strides and in the last 0.33 did two strides that got to full sprints briefly. &nbsp;splits for warm-up were 9:46, 9:08, 3:03.</p> <p>race right after warm-up. &nbsp;total time 33:17 for 4:03 miles. I went hard until 3.15 miles and then I walked briefly and took it easy getting &nbsp;home to hcange shoes. &nbsp;5K time was 23:21 (PR by 12 seconds) and splits were 7:35, 7:43, 7:19, 10:22, 0:19. &nbsp;my mile PR is 7:15.7 so I was very close.</p> <p>3.36 miles ran in raining shoes total time 32:13 splits 9:48, 9:39, 9:23, 3:23</p> <p>bike time 28:22, 14.9 mph</p> Sat, 16 Sep 2017 06:00:00 Thu, Sep 14, 2017 http://Don.fastrunningblog.com/blog-09-14-2017.html <p>total time 65:05. &nbsp;plan was to run easy and not look at the clock. &nbsp;And... the have @30 second fartlek every half mile starting at the mile mark. &nbsp;I looked at the watch to figure out turn-a-round location and to look at the splits: &nbsp;9:37, 9:08, 9:09, 9:17, 9:15, 9:22, 9:16.</p> Thu, 14 Sep 2017 06:00:00 Wed, Sep 13, 2017 http://Don.fastrunningblog.com/blog-09-13-2017.html <p>total time 30:10. &nbsp;splits 10:00, 9:54, 9:53, 0:23</p> <p>bike time 32:56. &nbsp;14.1 MPH (took it easy today)</p> Wed, 13 Sep 2017 06:00:00 Tue, Sep 12, 2017 http://Don.fastrunningblog.com/blog-09-12-2017.html <p>plan was for 3 half miles as fast as I could go. &nbsp;I warmed up for a mile and did 5 mini surges during the mile to prep for the first hard half mile. &nbsp;total time 56:27. &nbsp;splits 9:08, 3:23.6, 4:46.9 (8:10.5), 9:28, 3:27.8, 4:48.6 (8:16.4), 9:25, 3:32.7, 4:55.2 (8:27.9- 6 miles in 52:56), 3:31.</p> <p>I don&#39;t really have time for a race but this Saturday I am going to do another solo 5K and see how fast I can go.</p> Tue, 12 Sep 2017 06:00:00 Mon, Sep 11, 2017 http://Don.fastrunningblog.com/blog-09-11-2017.html <p>easy run... 79 degrees and 44% humidity. &nbsp;total time 29:03. &nbsp;splits 9:43, 9:36, 9:18 (after 2.5 miles I did three mild to moderate increases in tempo for 10-15 seconds),&nbsp;0:26.</p> <p>i felt great on the bike too. total time 26:12 16.2 mph.</p> Mon, 11 Sep 2017 06:00:00 Sat, Sep 09, 2017 http://Don.fastrunningblog.com/blog-09-09-2017.html <p>total running time 81:55. &nbsp;the plan was 9:30 for the first mile... 9:10 for the next 6 and 8:45 for the alst 2 miles. &nbsp;77 degrees and 53% humidity at the start of the run. &nbsp;I felt very comfortable for the first 6 miles running faster than the plan. &nbsp;the heat and humidity caught up to me. &nbsp;splits 9:9:26, 8:59, 8:54, 8:56, 8:57, 9:00, 9:01, 9:20, 9:23. &nbsp;</p> <p>bike... total time 49:19 13.7 MPH</p> Sat, 09 Sep 2017 06:00:00 Fri, Sep 08, 2017 http://Don.fastrunningblog.com/blog-09-08-2017.html <p>running total time 19:49. &nbsp;easy</p> <p>bike total time 26:44. &nbsp;15.9 mph</p> Fri, 08 Sep 2017 06:00:00 Thu, Sep 07, 2017 http://Don.fastrunningblog.com/blog-09-07-2017.html <p>back in Arizona. &nbsp;80 degrees and 37% humidity at the beginning of the run. &nbsp;This is about 18 degrees warmer than yesterday morning and I struggled at the end. &nbsp;totam time 63:44. &nbsp;splits 9:24, 9:10, 8:58, 9:00, 8:58, 8:57, 9:16.</p> Thu, 07 Sep 2017 06:00:00 Wed, Sep 06, 2017 http://Don.fastrunningblog.com/blog-09-06-2017.html <p>easy run in portland this morning. &nbsp;total time 29:57. &nbsp;splits 10:09, 9:52, 9:56. &nbsp;</p> Wed, 06 Sep 2017 06:00:00 Tue, Sep 05, 2017 http://Don.fastrunningblog.com/blog-09-05-2017.html <p>total running time 27:33. decided to go easy for first mile and then hard. then easy. &nbsp;splits 9:56, 7:35, 9:49, 0:13. &nbsp;I started out under 7 minutes pace and then backed off when I realized how fast I was going. &nbsp;Then I realized that I had backed off too much. &nbsp;I was running in the dark and couldn&#39;t easily glance at my watch. &nbsp;I was running in my heaviest shoes and feel like I could have gone faster. &nbsp;</p> Tue, 05 Sep 2017 06:00:00 Mon, Sep 04, 2017 http://Don.fastrunningblog.com/blog-09-04-2017.html <p>I am really enjoying the runs with temps in the high 50&#39;s! &nbsp;I went longer today because I need to be ready to walk with the kids to school tomorrow morning. &nbsp;total time 54:51. &nbsp;splits 9:33, 9:16, 9:19, 9:05, 9:10, 8:27. &nbsp;</p> Mon, 04 Sep 2017 06:00:00 Sat, Sep 02, 2017 http://Don.fastrunningblog.com/blog-09-02-2017.html <p>total time 71:32. &nbsp;the plan was to go out conservative for the first half and push the second half. &nbsp;more uphill in the first half and more down hill during the return. &nbsp;splits 9:24, 8:59 ( 0.3 downhill), 9:12, 9:42 (mostly uphill), 8:28, 8:18, 8:52, 8:38. &nbsp;love running in cooler weather!</p> Sat, 02 Sep 2017 06:00:00 Fri, Sep 01, 2017 http://Don.fastrunningblog.com/blog-09-01-2017.html <p>easy run total time 29:39. &nbsp;splits 10:04, 9:48, 9:46.</p> Fri, 01 Sep 2017 06:00:00 Thu, Aug 31, 2017 http://Don.fastrunningblog.com/blog-08-31-2017.html <p>in Portland much lower temps! &nbsp;total time 64:36. &nbsp;more hills too. &nbsp;splits 9:37, 9:32, 9:28 (uphill about 0.3), 9:20 ( uphill 0.4 then downhill the rest), 8:33 (all downhill), 8:45, 9:05, 0:16. &nbsp;</p> Thu, 31 Aug 2017 06:00:00 Wed, Aug 30, 2017 http://Don.fastrunningblog.com/blog-08-30-2017.html <p>total time running 20:20.</p> <p>bike total &nbsp;34:50. &nbsp;15.3 MPH</p> Wed, 30 Aug 2017 06:00:00 Tue, Aug 29, 2017 http://Don.fastrunningblog.com/blog-08-29-2017.html <p>outdoors temp 79 with 44% humidity. &nbsp;total time 60:52. &nbsp;after 0.75 miles of warm up I went 0.25 hard then 0.25 recovery until 6 miles then I reovered for 0.6 and then I ran 8:40 pace for 0.15 before going hard the last 0.25. &nbsp;splits 8:57, 8:17, 8:26, 8:30, 8:30, 8:44, 9:11, 0:19. &nbsp;This is the hardest I have run in a week and&nbsp;a half and the only time I will go super hard this week. &nbsp;It felt really good to go hard.</p> Tue, 29 Aug 2017 06:00:00 Mon, Aug 28, 2017 http://Don.fastrunningblog.com/blog-08-28-2017.html <p>total time running 20:20. &nbsp;pace 9:58</p> <p>bicycling total time 27:07 15.6 MPH</p> Mon, 28 Aug 2017 06:00:00 Sat, Aug 26, 2017 http://Don.fastrunningblog.com/blog-08-26-2017.html <p>total time 84:23. &nbsp;I ran outside. &nbsp;it was 82 degrees with 36% humidity and I left before 5:30 am. &nbsp;I deliberately wanted to take it easy at first and then try to finish strong. &nbsp;splits 9:51, 9:35, 9:32, 9:30, 9:22, 9:15, 9:17, 9:02, 9:01. &nbsp;I ahd hped to do the last mile in 8:30 but by the end that wasn&#39;t happening! &nbsp;:)</p> <p>bike ride with Beth. &nbsp;64 minutes.</p> Sat, 26 Aug 2017 06:00:00 Fri, Aug 25, 2017 http://Don.fastrunningblog.com/blog-08-25-2017.html <p>outside run slow. &nbsp;total time 20:33 average pace 10:05</p> <p>bike outside 28:26. &nbsp;14.9 mph deliberately rode more conservatively.</p> Fri, 25 Aug 2017 06:00:00 Thu, Aug 24, 2017 http://Don.fastrunningblog.com/blog-08-24-2017.html <p>treadmillk indoors &nbsp;total time 54:45. &nbsp;splits 9:46, 9:14, 8:57, 8:50, 8:49, 8:30, 0:40</p> <p>gradually upped the MPH until I maintained at 6.8 mph from 2.75 miles until 5 miles then upped it gradually again.</p> Thu, 24 Aug 2017 06:00:00 Wed, Aug 23, 2017 http://Don.fastrunningblog.com/blog-08-23-2017.html <p>total tunning time 20:50. &nbsp;10:14 pace.</p> <p>bike total time 27:07. &nbsp;15.6 mph</p> <p>&nbsp;</p> Wed, 23 Aug 2017 06:00:00